In the Moment

OK, sometimes I don’t entirely daydream away my bike rides. Like yesterday, when I started up a small group of birds feeding along the road verge. They kept taking off and flying ahead of me, crossing and recrossing the road, perching on the walls briefly before flying on again, and chirping all the while. It was as if I’d become part of the flock too, gliding through the middle of a cloud of birds for half a mile or so until they veered off and left me on my own again. And then, turning the last corner to swoop down the hill into Papershop village, the sun managed to break through and fill the valley to my left with streaks of watery sunshine, all veiled with cloud.

All of which was some small compensation for the ride back from Bigtown this afternoon, when the weather gods finally caught up with me and gave me all the soakings I’d missed all summer, all in one go. My clothes are still drying round the house …

3 Responses to In the Moment

  1. welshcyclist says:

    A drop of rain is great, I’d really miss it, if we didn’t have any at all.

  2. John Gibson says:

    The weather gods give, and they taketh away.
    John

  3. disgruntled says:

    @welshcyclist – it’s a risk I’m prepared to take
    @John – we’ve had a nice summer break from them, but they’re baaaack

Leave a Reply

