Snug as a Bug in a Rug

And not just because the Rayburn is back on (and is currently drying my socks, trousers and shirt after my latest cycle ride…)

vole nest

I was out trying to make the veg plot look a bit less of a disaster area when I came across what looked like a ball of grass in what was supposed to be one of the paths. I had come across one of these before and found it was nothing but a loose ball of grass – but this time when I carefully teased it open I was surprised to find that I had company

baby voles

Two tiny little voles, curled up together. I moved it as carefully as I could to somewhere less exposed. While one of them stayed put the other was made of sterner stuff and came out to have a look at me while I tried to get a decent picture of it with my camera phone until Mama Vole came along and – with a what I can only describe as a very filthy look – came and retrieved her errant offspring

vole

It has made gardening at that end of the patch a bit tricky. Clearly, I have more than got behind with the weeding…

4 Responses to Snug as a Bug in a Rug

  1. Flighty says:

    Lucky you, I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a vole. And they sure trump the robin that I saw on the plot this morning, being the first one I’ve seen there for months. xx

  2. disgruntled says:

    you probably keep your plot a bit tidier than I do mine!

  3. John Gibson says:

    Thank You for that.
    John

  4. […] hour a day getting on with what needs to be done (when I haven’t been harassing hard-working vole families). So far without much visible results, but I hope by the end of the week I can at least put up an […]

Leave a Reply

