Couldn’t Resist

Among my more random seed potato purchases this year were five Highland Burgundy maincrops which I knew were red all the way through, and stayed red when you cooked them. Given that I’m a sucker for randomly coloured vegetables (purple mangetout anyone?) I had to give those a try – but what nobody mentioned was how pretty they were when sliced

highland burgundy potatoes

So when it came to topping off a casserole with potatoes, I couldn’t resist (even if they do clash with both the casserole and the tomato in the sauce.

highland burgundy slices on casserole

I’d show you a picture of it when it came out of the oven, but we ate it before I remembered. Still, there’s plenty left, so perhaps some multicoloured chips to go with the Shetland Darks. Who knows, I might even manage to photograph the finished article this time before the gannets descend…

7 Responses to Couldn’t Resist

  1. Jenny says:

    Wonderful looking spuds. They look like a cross between a ‘normal’ potato and a kumara (or sweet potato here in NZ).

  2. disgruntled says:

    They taste just like spuds, but it’s cool they keep their colour when cooked

  3. John Gibson says:

    The spuds seem much prettier up your way. They remind me of a sort of fruit bowl.
    John

  4. Flighty says:

    I’ve never grown, or indeed eaten coloured potatoes. They certainly look good. xx

  5. disgruntled says:

    @John – it’s all in the varieties
    @Flighty – the great thing about potato day is you can take a punt on a few seed potatoes and see how they work out. I think these ones are a keeper

  6. CJ says:

    They’re great, I might give them a try next year, I love the weird stuff too. I also forget to photograph food before it’s all eaten. I can’t imagine what they’d say if they saw me standing around taking pictures of the food when they were hungry though. There’d be a mutiny.

  7. […] splendid looking potato, as they keep their colour even when they’re cooked. This looks fantastic on top of a casserole or in a medley of roast vegetables. Added into leek and potato soup, however, they turn the whole […]

Leave a Reply

