It’s Rare…

…that we get to listen to news of the weather gods wreaking havoc over the south of England while we sit securely in Scotland suffering not much more than some heavy showers interspersed with autumn sunshine.

sunshine in peat bog

We had friends visiting from London this weekend which has meant two-and-a-half days of chatting, cooking, eating, drinking, sitting by the fire playing silly games (Bananagrams – the gateway drug to Scrabble – followed by Texas Hold’em with the contents of the penny jar), not spending any time on the internet, and above all going out for long walks in unsuitable weather.* I found the walking surprisingly hard going; I’ve become a bit lazy and just cycle everywhere these days. We had a few culinary adventures as well, from a huge cauliflower fungus found in the woods to my less-than-huge sole surviving celeriac (hastily christened Cedric).

celeriac and beetroot

Cedric the Celeriac awaits his fate

Our friends left this lunchtime to find out whether anything remains of southern England after the storm. They have stocked up with plentiful supplies of Criffel, so should society have broken down altogether under the pressure of power cuts, train breakdowns and Waitroses being closed for up to a week, they should be able to hole up somewhere safe and repel any attackers with the smell

rainbow

Am I the only person who sees a rainbow as less God’s promise to the world, and more the Weather Gods’ reminder that they’ll be back …

Meanwhile we will batten down the hatches and await whatever punishment the fates have in store for us for being sarky about the storm.

*I’ll hold my hands up right now and and admit that visiting the local peat bog might have been a mistake. Still, it taught the youngest of a party a valuable lesson about how wellies don’t do much to keep your feet dry when you’re in up to your knees.

7 Responses to It’s Rare…

  1. Charles says:

    Well at 6am it was lovely and quiet. At 6:30 the wind arrived and my two bay trees were blown over like ninepins. Crash, along with the bins. Fortunately half an hour of wind was enough to cripple FCC, the rail company, that like Errol Flynn, always let’s you down. (Pace David Niven in either The Moons a balloon or Bring on the empty horses.) Anyway I had to work from home and apart from a pesky conference call I was a free agent. Could you believe I had to visit 3 garden centres before I could find 2 large matching terra cotta pots. Anyway bay trees now have new homes, my e-mails are virtuously under control, the weather gods have been placated for a while by having a smashing time but I bet FCC will not be running in the morning!

  2. CJ says:

    I think I must have slept through the hurricane, I really didn’t notice it. Sounds like you had a really lovely weekend. Hope you enjoyed Cedric.

  3. John Gibson says:

    That cauliflower fungus looks quite dangerous, I’m amazed that it can be eaten. We had a power cut from 3 in the morning until 5 this afternoon, but I soon stopped feeling sorry for myself when I saw that four people had lost their lives.
    John

  4. Viviane says:

    What is Criffel ? Dying of curiosity…

  5. disgruntled says:

    @Charles – I was very glad not to be attempting to commute in London yesterday morning!
    @CJ to be perfectly honest, Cedric did not stand out much once combined with beetroot, potatoes, bangers and onion gravy
    @John – apparently it’s delicious, although I have to admit I passed on that one.
    @Viviane – it’s a rind-washed cheese which has rather pungent properties https://cityexile.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/advance-warning/ (and apparently one of the ten best cheeses in Scotland http://food.list.co.uk/article/17281-scotlands-best-cheeses/)

  6. Flighty says:

    It’s been ages since I last saw a rainbow. xx

  7. disgruntled says:

    That was a particularly fine one…

Leave a Reply

