Back in the Saddle

After three weeks away and a borrowed bike, it was nice to take advantage of a gap in the rain this morning for a potter on my very own bike (I’d love to say that bike and I ran smoothly together like a well-oiled machine but if I’m honest there was a fair bit of squeaking going on particularly in top gear – a problem I solved by changing down and going more slowly instead).

river flooded

I was heading for Bigtown for some cash and the paper – nothing too urgent – so there was time to stop and admire the flooded river on the way. There were also some sweet little shetland ponies and I promised myself I’d stop and take their picture on the way back, but by then normal service had resumed on the rain front and I was just concentrating on getting home before I dissolved.

sunlight catching raindrops

My very generous mother has given me a rain skirt for Christmas which (once I have figured out how to put it on) would be perfect for just such an occasion – or at least it would have been if it wasn’t still sitting on the kitchen table where I had left it, instead of in my pannier. Still, I’ve a feeling it’s going to get a thorough testing over the next few weeks…

waterfall

It all makes for dramatic waterfalls, if nothing else

4 Responses to Back in the Saddle

  1. Rebecca says:

    That rain skirt is very cool. I fall hard for things that are stylish as well as functional, and that wrap nails it. Multifunctional! I love it. And so many other goodies on their website, thank you for that link! I want those overboots, too. With only one outlet in the States, it may be a bit tough to find it all here. But the Louisiana monsoon doesn’t start until June, so maybe it’ll be easier by then. Anyway, congratulations on the skirt, you’re mom’s a winner.

  2. disgruntled says:

    I’m sure they’ll post them to you…

    I have the Leggits too https://cityexile.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/legging-it/

  3. John Gibson says:

    Welcome back. I’m sorry, I just had to laugh watching the rain skirt video.
    John

  4. […] the ford (I don’t know why I bother as the photograph I took of it was so similar to the one taken a month ago I initially thought I’d saved the file […]

Leave a Reply

