Glug Glug

OK, I think I have finally worked out how to use the rainwrap properly now. If you add in the Leggits! it takes fully ten minutes to get all your rain gear on before venturing out. In that time, it will almost certainly stop raining and stay stopped raining until you get to your destination whereupon everyone will look at you even more oddly than they would have done had you turned up drenched. HOWEVER this magical rain repelling property only works if you put everything on before leaving the house. Leaving the house with the rainwrap in the pannier having foolishly believed the weather forecast will result in it starting raining heavily as soon as you are half a mile down the road, or in the middle of Bigtown High Street, whichever is the more embarrassing for attempting to clumsily don a rain skirt in.

In the time it’s taken me to work this out, I may have inadvertently flooded Bigtownshire, for which I’m sorry. On the other hand, it should at least mean we get a nice dry day for our planned winter bike ride tomorrow. Assuming nobody else is foolish enough to leave their over-the-top rain protection in their bag.

In other news, putting your ice tyres on is guaranteed to bring about a prolonged mild spell.

6 Responses to Glug Glug

  1. commuterjohn says:

    I only ever put wet weather gear on to save all those other people from getting soaked had I not bothered!

  2. Bob says:

    I must say (and perhaps I’m repeating myself) that I’m duly impressed that you can and will put on your ice tires all by your lonesome.
    I tend to get stuck with all things mechanical, whether qualified for the job or not.

  3. disgruntled says:

    John – and yet nobody ever thanks us…
    Bob – er, I have to confess here that I recruited the other half and there was much swearing involved, which is why they’re still on after almost a week of mild weather

  4. you keep them on. I just can’t be bothered with ice this year. I over faced myself last spring.
    Keep practicing the rain wrap in the privacy of your on home, then you’ll be able to don it in a ‘Wonder Woman’ sort of twirl

  5. disgruntled says:

    heh – as long as I don’t have to wear the rest of Wonder Woman’s outfit; it looks rather chilly

  6. CJ says:

    I had no idea you could get ice tyres for your bike. I have a permanent lump on my knee from hitting a (surprise) sheet of ice about 15 years ago. One minute I was upright, the next minute the whole shebang was horizontal, but still moving at much the same speed.

Leave a Reply

