Gardening Weather. No, Really

A strange thing happened this afternoon – I looked out of the window just before 5pm and realised that not only was it not dark, but that it was actually nice weather. And I was getting tired and cranky from looking at my computer all day and needed a bit of a break. And I hadn’t been out in my garden for weeks other than to empty the compost bucket and raid the kale patch.* So I siezed the day and dashed outside to get something done and had, ooh, a whole half an hour before the skies darkened and it started hailing. It was nice while it lasted though.

hail storm

What’s worse than raining cats and dogs? Hailing taxis…

Worryingly, I noticed that the weedlings have already started sprouting underneath all the vegetation. It’s too much to hope that they’ve just been battered to death by the hail, I suppose?

* And seriously, when did kale suddenly become a thing? We only grow it because it’s one of the three things that reliably grow in the Scottish climate, along with onions and tatties…

9 Responses to Gardening Weather. No, Really

  1. Ian says:

    You must be drier than us then – even on the side of a hill here in Badenich the water table is pretty much at ground level. Nothing growing, and I think we may be farming ducks rather than sheep this year.

  2. disgruntled says:

    The grass is incredibly soggy, but the beds aren’t too bad. Perhaps farming ducks is the way to go…

  3. Jenny says:

    Yes, Kale has even made it into our supermarket shelves as of three months ago. I’m enjoying the novelty of buying an expensive bag of what looks like fancy silverbeet. New Zealand, making the weeds of Scotland into national treasures – like the gorse and bracken and thistle that love us so much since they were introduced.

  4. charles says:

    kale was cattle food when I was a boy, but then the only fruit we ate were oranges, apples, raspberries and strawberries. Modern life is rather more interesting.

    I have been away for a week in Botswana, where they have a drought in the South. Makes you appreciate the rain, although I think we could afford to share some of ours….

  5. CJ says:

    I’m aiming for Outside this morning. Wish me luck.

  6. John Gibson says:

    Is Kale nice, I have never had it. I saw it on sale in a market on Thursday, but never got any.
    John

  7. disgruntled says:

    @Charles – happy to send some their way
    @CJ – hope you made it
    @John – it’s basically cabbage.

  8. WOL says:

    Onions and tatties and kale, oh my!

Leave a Reply

