On the Fly

I was walking back from noticeboard tree having put up a POP poster, when I noticed a car had pulled over ahead of me, and something was flung out of the window, possibly bits of bread crusts. I was just taking that in when the possible crusts were followed by a definite discarded cup and a scrunched up plastic bag. At this point I had drawn level with the car so I spoke to the driver through the still-open window and explained to them the error of their ways whereupon they got out of the car and picked up their rubbish and then, weeping hot tears of repentance, proceeded to pick up every single piece of rubbish along the entire road.

OK, I didn’t really – you can take the girl out of London but you can’t take etc. I did give them a really hard stare though.

Fortunately, it is the parish litter pick next week so the rubbish won’t be there long. Every year whenever we take part, I find myself wondering just who these people are who think nothing of flinging rubbish along the road. This year, at least I’ll have the dubious pleasure of knowing what kind of car they drive.

(Oh and to make it worse, someone has apparently fly tipped rubbish at the waterfall. Despite the fact that they could have driven five miles further on and dropped it off at the council tip for free. What is wrong with people?)

9 Responses to On the Fly

  1. Paul M says:

    I’m afraid the wealthy burghers of Surrey are no better. Some time on Friday the various parts of an old boiler were neatly deposited by the side of the road just down from us.

    The chosen spot is right outside one house and opposite two others – in a country lane where there are plenty of stretches where no house overlooks and passic traffic is infrequent, that does sound to me to be a bit pointed, especially as this isn’t the first time. I think it was a boiler last time as well.

    Again, the council recycling entre is only five miles away.

    Up on the common, we used to get a lot of rubbish strewn along the byway. I suspected then that this rubbish – seemed largely to comprise Asda carrier bags, beer cans and meat pie wrappers – was dropped by the 4×4 enthusiasts who used to ply the byway, but since the National Trust has closed it, due to the dreadful damage the 4x4s were doing to it, the littering has largely stopped.

    We get an awful lot of cyclists as well, either simple off-roaders or downhillers all decked out in full-face helmets, jump suits and knee and elbow protectors. Funnily enough, I rarely see evidence of half-eaten cake beside the paths.

  2. Charles says:

    Well I have been impressed by the Italians, very little litter. However in London it is disgusting, myself I think it should be a capital offence as we are in London. Rudeness goes hand in hand with this type of behaviour . Where is clint Eastwood when you need him?

  3. Jenny says:

    Ah, I feel your pain. I was walking along one of our gorgeous bush walks in Te Atatu, and a car had pulled in near the entrance, and someone was clearing the seats and floor of their rubbish and piling it outside on the start of the walk!! I stopped and watched, and then moved on a bit, but turned with my iphone as they pulled out, and took a photo. They saw me do that in the rear view window, and my heart went up into my throat when they reversed into the park again. I walked a bit closer and the woman got out and said, “What are you looking at” – to which I replied, I couldn’t believe she was leaving all that rubbish there. She DID pick it all up and put it back in the car, before driving off, and I privately thanked iphone’s excellent camera, which is obviously as good as bringing a tough security guy with me. I’ve used the ‘take a photo’ as a deterrent a couple of times now.

  4. Bob says:

    This kind of stuff just makes my third generation Scots blood boil. The local “plague” here is “Tim Horton’s” cups. Tim Horton’s is the name of a well known Canadian coffee shop chain, and there are cups just about everywhere within a 2 kilometer radius of every location.
    I’ve been known to pick up offending dog sh*t or what have you and follow the person home. “I think you might have lost something” is the first thing I say when they answer the door, at which point I had over the offending detritus. Most think I’ve come across a dropped wallet I suspect. Then they can throw it on their own lawn if they choose.
    Gotta get me one of them I Phone thingies….

    • Jenny says:

      That fills my ‘first generation NZer, but half ancestral Scot’s blood’ with great satisfaction to hear. I’m all for following a person home and tossing their rubbish onto their property too. The Urquharts in me, can’t be too far away, bless them.

  5. Bob says:

    …*hand* over. Dammit, have to proofread BEFORE hitting that little icon.

  6. Flighty says:

    Sadly it’s the same everywhere, and the people who do it simply don’t care. xx

  7. disgruntled says:

    You lot are all way more assertive and brave than me

  8. Autolycus says:

    I believe the classic response is to return the offending items through the car window:

    “Excuse me, I believe you dropped this.”
    “That’s all right, I don’t want it any more.”
    “Neither does Tunbridge Wells*”

    *or wherever.

    But I seem to remember an awful lot of trouble descending on Victor Meldrew when he tried something of the kind.

Leave a Reply

