You Know you’re not in London any more…

… when you find your train journey enlivened by a stranger’s life story. I caught the Bigtown connection by the skin of my teeth this afternoon, and slid into one of the table seats beside what I took to be a mother and teenage daughter. The girl was soon chatting away merrily about the Brompton, the train service, her international gymnastics career (now retired), her As in maths, English and child care, her three-year-old daughter, the various fights she had got into in school after the announcement of her engagement, her plans for this evening (chicken curry cooked by her fiance’s sister if you’re interested), the fact that you can no longer get a half on the bus if you’ve got your own toddler in tow, and much much more. It soon became apparent that the older woman was not her mother – indeed, she was a stranger too, and as bemused as I was, as well as being slightly concerned. The barrage continued until the stop before Bigtown where the girl got off, with a cheery ‘see you later’. It was certainly an eye-opener and I suppose it beats one of those overheard telephone conversations that used to enliven my morning commute down in London, although it wasn’t much less one-sided…

You also know you’ve been in London when you come back feeling like you’re coming down with a lurgy. What with the public transport, all the people, school-age children and the pollution, my isolated country immune system just doesn’t stand a chance…

6 Responses to You Know you’re not in London any more…

  1. John Gibson says:

    When I have time, I like to look at the videos that cyclists put up on youtube when they are cycling through London. You know the ones that have a cam stuck to their heads.
    I would have liked to see one of you going along the tow paths you covered in your last post. It looks fairly peaceful.
    John

  2. Charles says:

    That international travel will get you every time. I used to jog around regents park using the tow path, idyllic in the summer, and the zoo was always an added bonus!

  3. disgruntled says:

    John – I think any headcam video I took would be extremely uneventful, which might make a nice change I suppose
    Charles – I know. I seem to remember I got ill the last time I went down to London as well. And yet I never learn

  4. Bob says:

    Ah yes, the “lurgy”. Best to be avoided, but difficult to do in a lurgy infested populace. Hopefully you’ve dodged that bullet.
    Much worse than the “plin” I take it.

  5. Did you of you see the Brompton bike bag in the Observer today, I thought of you.
    http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/competition/2014/mar/30/win-brompton-bike-bag

  6. disgruntled says:

    ha – very nice (although that model only has two gears so may not be suitable for round here)

Leave a Reply

