N Plus … My God What Am I Thinking?

No, not bikes, for once, although there is a parallel. This week I’ve been attempting to do All The Gardening (along with the last frantic week of Pedal on Parliament organising) as I try and catch up from our sodden winter and my busyness and get everything in the ground while I have the chance. Yesterday, as I was reminding myself how back-breaking potato planting was, the landlord gave me a last chance to take over the remaining vegetable plots in the walled garden before they were grassed over (the landlord’s veg production having been moved to raised beds nearer the house). Despite the fact that I already have more garden than I can really handle – and we now grow pretty much all the veg that we can reasonably eat, without extending the season with a poly tunnel – I was briefly tempted.

ex vegetable beds

Ooh look, all rotavated and raked and everything. Shiny…

Clearly to a gardener, an extra patch of land is just as enticing as a new bike is to a cyclist. Sure, you have all the bikes you need, and not enough shed for another… but … shiny. Especially if the alternative is for the bike – or the garden – to be scrapped. The plots in the walled garden have been cultivated for decades and while they’re not being permanently lost, it does seem a shame that nobody is prepared to take them on. For one mad moment I did think about a career in market gardening but then I looked at the state of my own plot and came to my senses.

my own vegetable plot

Meanwhile, back in reality

In other news, the first parsnip emerged today. Time to get the slug traps down before munching begins.

parsnip seedling

Parsnip seedling. I include this photo as a service to all those who arrive at my blog having searched for photos of parsnip seedlings, as happens regularly at this time of year. Weed seedlings look very similar…

And we learned that pheasants and greenhouses don’t mix.

6 Responses to N Plus … My God What Am I Thinking?

  1. John Gibson says:

    Thats the size of a football field.
    John

  2. Andy in Germany says:

    Have had that feeling myself, both with bikes and gardens…

  3. disgruntled says:

    @john – not quite but it is big
    @Andy – it’s just too tempting, isn’t it? I’m holding firm though

  4. nickc says:

    Your reality is very reassuring – it’s just like mine.

  5. disgruntled says:

    And that’s after a fair bit of remedial work …

  6. […] and I turned down the chance of doubling my garden size https://cityexile.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/n-plus-my-god-what-am-i-thinking/ (although I did later manage to acquire a greenhouse […]

Leave a Reply

