London Lessons Learned

No time (too much gadding, sorry) to do a proper post … but here are some brief lessons learnt from my latest London adventures.

entrance to Finsbury Park

* When it’s a tube strike, and you’re filtering past a roughly mile-long tailback on a rat run towards Finsbury Park, it’s probably kind not to look *too* happy. Those drivers are already having a pretty horrible day, and you’re about to take a massive traffic-free shortcut through the park. Be nice, people

foggy day

* London is only really foggy in Dickens novels and Americans’ imaginations. Except when it actually is foggy. Lucky I’d brought my lights. Bizarrely, one of them managed to hop of the handlebars of my Brompton and into my jacket pocket on the way. I’ve still no idea how this happened

Brompton in the rain

* The school run is perfectly possible in the rain – especially if you have a spare pair of tights for your niece to change into when she arrives.

Wide road and verges
* There’s just no space for cycling on London’s roads.

6 Responses to London Lessons Learned

  1. John Gibson says:

    Bizarrely, one of them managed to hop of the handlebars of my Brompton and into my jacket pocket on the way. I’ve still no idea how this happened.
    It was afraid of being out in the daytime.
    John

  2. disgruntled says:

    @john – you could be right!

  3. I disagree – it is absolutely a good idea to look happy when you’re filtering past a mile long tailback. That’s one of the advantages of being on a bike. Perhaps if they see how happy you are compared to how miserable they are, they might be tempted to leave the car at home the next time there’s a tube strike and get on a bike instead?

  4. disgruntled says:

    haha – true, although gloating is never a good look. Perhaps a small smile of satisfaction is in order

  5. […] only know this because the girls’ cycle-campaigning aunt has been brainwashing me for a number of years, but now I know, I can’t unknow it, and I […]

Leave a Reply

