The Road Home

It’s kind of hard to believe that this morning I was cycling past a wall of double-decker buses on Waterloo Bridge…

The road home

It’s been a fun few days in London, and the Brompton has certainly earned its keep (it’s earned a bath too – let’s just say that the tow path from Richmond to Teddington isn’t really recommended for those hoping to arrive at their destination not splattered in mud from head to foot). It’s been the first trip in ages when I haven’t had to top up my oyster at all, and I’ve enjoyed the sensation of actually being the fastest thing on the roads at times, instead of the slowest (rural cycling, lovely as it is, is never the quickest option). I feel like I’ve experienced a wider spectrum of London cycling than I ever tried when I lived there: from a suburban school run, to jousting with traffic, to trying out semi-decent segregated infrastructure (thank you, Camden Council), to inhaling a bee in a deer park (on the whole, not one for the bucket list although if things go badly the ‘before you die’ part could be quite imminent. I am fine, before you ask. The bee, on the other hand, is not).

Fun as it’s been, it’s been even better to come home. Not only was I relieved to get on the train at all with all my limbs intact (nothing to do with the traffic – I thought I had lost my return ticket and was going to have to pay the standard walk-up fare of one arm plus one leg) but it was just bliss to cycle home with the late afternoon sunshine dappling through the trees and the birds all singing, and the verges starting to fill with flowers.

I now have a billion things to catch up with that I’ve promised people I would look at after POP. But hopefully there will be a little time now to stop and smell the flowers…

7 Responses to The Road Home

  1. Sue Greig says:

    Whew…….time to rest up a bit and smell those flowers. Do you want some plants – I’ve got tomatoes, peppers and aubergines for instance. See you soon.

  2. John Gibson says:

    I just looked up the fare, and gave a little shudder.
    John

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Sue – got to plant them first! And I owe you money…
    @John – I was very very happy to find the lost ticket …

  4. Bob says:

    Bleah. Nothing much worse than swallowing an insect. I try and keep my mouth closed, and wear some sort of eye wear at all times. Enjoy your home time.

  5. disgruntled says:

    @Bob the eye wear is a given as I’m blind as a bat, but keeping my mouth shut is a problem (as anyone who knows me will tell you)

  6. That semi-decent segregated infrastructure is quite good, isn’t it? (by London standards, anyway). I’ve recently started using some of it and it’s improved my journey no end.

  7. disgruntled says:

    You definitely notice when you reach the border with Islington and it all disappears…

Leave a Reply

