Toad in the Hole

Desperately trying to get the garden ready for month end* I was clearing out my old purple sprouting broccoli bed and found a clod of earth that moved:

toad

There’s no way I’m harming something that lives on slugs, so I left that bit for later and concentrated on destroying something else’s habitat elswhere in the veg plot. Hopefully Mr Toad will find himself a new place to lurk and foray out for a profitable evening’s hunting. He certainly looks as if he hasn’t been stinting himself recently.

veg plot

The veg plot is … barely under control. I’m just about managing to get the minimum needed to get everything planted out, and that only by ignoring the part where I was supposed to have planted my celeriac two months ago.

walled garden view

But the view from the gate of the walled garden is pretty nifty at this time of year.

* You know, all those seed packets that say ‘plant outside April – May’. How the seeds know the difference between May 31st and June 1st I have no idea, but I don’t want to risk it…

3 Responses to Toad in the Hole

  1. I run on the basis that the Scottish planting season is two weeks behind the English one (where the seeds are usually packaged). So we have plenty of time. Love toads!

  2. oftpaster says:

    I love it when I find frogs, toads, newts or slow worms in the garden. Sometimes I give a little startled cry that sounds like alarm – but really it is joy that there is a creature prepared to eat slugs.

  3. disgruntled says:

    Alison … yes but bearing in mind our growing season is two weeks shorter at the other end as well I’d probably better get a move on. Not sure exactly why I bother with sweetcorn…
    oftpaster – I may have made a small squeak when it moved suddenly. Pure delight, obviously

Leave a Reply

