Space for Gardening

I knew I was taking a bit of a risk, but I thought I would chance it. I had to be in Edinburgh for the day and was coming back via the station just as the local guerilla gardening group were holding their plant swap evening … at the station. There would be plants there absolutely free, for anyone who wanted to take them. Anyone who had the space in their garden and the time to tend them. Anyone entirely unlike me, in other words.

So it was a danger. Going into a garden centre without ending up with a whole nother garden worth of plants is hard enough; walking past a free plant stall is something else again. Especially as friends of mine would be there helping organise it and it would be rude not to stop and chat. But I was careful, I took precautions. I was on my big bike, so no danger of having a handy basket ready for a tray of homeless seedlings. I didn’t even bring my pannier bag, which can just about take a potted plant or two if they’re carefully wrapped and not too delicate. All I had was my backpack, and that was already full of my laptop. No matter how tempted I was, no matter how persuasive my friend on the stall, no matter how much some exotic plantling (tomatillo! Kohl rabi! Come on, admit you’re tempted) batted its eyelashes at me, there was no way I could take it home. It was a shame, but no. I would be firm. I just haven’t the time or the space or the energy for any more plants in my garden. And fortunately I haven’t the space for them in my bag either…

plants in backpack

… I suppose I should be grateful that at least they aren’t tomato plants.

7 Responses to Space for Gardening

  1. John Gibson says:

    It is so much harder to be kind than horrible.
    John

  2. Andy in Germany says:

    Probably best that you don’t have an Xtracycle or a Bakfiets: just think what you’d bring home with those…

  3. Viviane says:

    Rosemary ? thyme ?

  4. subversivite says:

    Baby conifers! What have you done?!

  5. disgruntled says:

    It’s rosemary not conifers! And yes, a bakfiets would have been a major tactical error at an event like that

  6. Ulli says:

    I recently mis-pronounced ‘guerilla gardening’ as ‘gorilla gardening’ and wondered why the other half nearly keeled over with laughing, until he had recovered enough to tell me …

  7. disgruntled says:

    I’m not sure I’d make much of a distinction between the two, to be honest….

Leave a Reply

