And How Was Your Weekend?

In retrospect, the weekend had definitely been going far too well. The Bike Curious event had been a bit of a blast (more details here from one of our demonstrators) and we’d had a packed out room of women talking a mile a minute about cycling at the Women’s Cycle Forum in the evening, followed by the pub. I was at the station this morning well in time to catch my train home, secured the perfect seat (table, facing, power socket, no annoying fellow travellers) and settled down for an hour’s journey catching up with a little work.

Put it this way, when your quiet journey home is interrupted with a rattle and a bang, followed by the train coming to a halt and the news that the overhead lines have been severed and the pantagraph had come down and crashed into a window, the rest of your day is not going to go well. I won’t bore you with the tedious details (I used to have a whole blog for that) but suffice it to say that I was very very glad to have brought a book, an actual book that didn’t need to be plugged into a power socket to work, with me. Also that you know it’s serious when they don’t just distribute free tea and coffee, but crack open the contents of the snack bar and tell people to help themselves

So, having lunched on crips and chocolate, I have finally made it home seven hours later, although I suspect that had the passengers going to Lockerbie not formed a united and vocal faction and all but taken over one of the replacement coaches after they seemed to have forgotten about us, then I might be standing in Carstairs still. Fortunately, they do have a reasonable facility for train passengers driven mad by the chaos that reigns in the wake of a broken train. In fact, it’s possible some of the inmates had escaped a while back and had been keeping themselves busy trying to run a railway since…

6 Responses to And How Was Your Weekend?

  1. John Gibson says:

    but crack open the contents of the snack bar and tell people to help themselves

    I nearly fell off my chair when I read this, I think someone is going to be in trouble.
    John

  2. disgruntled says:

    They did draw the line at the booze, on the grounds that we were going to have to evacuate the train

  3. I was once on a train in America that broke down. Rather than get us all off, they decided the best thing to do would be to fix it. We didn’t move for about six hours. Likewise they opened up the snack bar, including the booze – but sadly, as I was only 19 at the time, I couldn’t partake. Given that I also couldn’t use the money off vouchers ($100 off your next journey with Amtrak!) they were offering everyone, I did feel a little short-changed by the whole experience.

  4. disgruntled says:

    Oh no! Although I don’t recall having much trouble getting served on an Amtrak train at age 19 …

  5. Freud Ian Schlipp says:

    Hello, I was one of the catering crew on said train.

    Sorry we couldn’t get you home any quicker – I think the least we could do was give out some free grub, don’t you think? (And yes, it was all authorized in advance)

  6. disgruntled says:

    The grub was definitely appreciated! TBH I’ve had worse journeys. The chaos with the buses at the end was the worst part, but I suppose these things are never simple to sort out

Leave a Reply

