Buzzard Dundee

OK, so here’s something I never thought I’d ever say: it was just too lovely and sunny this afternoon. And not because I was stuck indoors – I had to head off on the bike. To the papershop. Through Buzzard Alley. And that was the problem. Having lost my magical tweed hat earlier in the year, my only remaining anti-buzzard head protection that it’s practical to cycle in was the hood of the apocalypse proof jacket and breathable as it is, I didn’t fancy wearing it on a gloriously warm sunny afternoon.

That left me with a choice of braving the buzzard bare headed – or cycling in my Akubra hat, which I did, as fortunately there wasn’t too much of a breeze. It means you either have to keep your pace slow or your head down to avoid it flying off – but it does seem to offer sterling buzzard protection as I wasn’t so much as buzzed in either direction. Clearly the general air of readiness to wrestle wildlife to the ground it gives the wearer was sufficient to keep my nemesis at bay. Long may that last. Although I suspect that it’s more likely that it will simply start raining again as usual.

4 Responses to Buzzard Dundee

  1. Robert Littlewood says:

    Not wanting to get into *that* discussion again, but I would have thought that good protection against buzzards would be afforded by … errrm … a cycling helmet

  2. disgruntled says:

    @John ummmm…
    @robert – it might do, but I don’t own one. And if I’m going to shell out for protective headgear it will probably be something in tweed again

  3. Robert Littlewood says:

    A Tilly hat maybe then? They’re padded on top.

Leave a Reply

