Be Prepared

It rained all day today. This wasn’t exactly a surprise because a) this is South West Scotland, and ‘raining’ is the factory setting, and b) the BBC has been forecasting rain all day today for the past week. Well, OK, maybe the second part was a bit of a surprise because the weather forecasts haven’t been all that accurate in recent weeks, but I can hardly say I wasn’t warned.

The rain left me with a dilemma: set out for the paper in the rain early on and get it over with, or wait around and see whether or not it was going to defy all forecasts and clear up. The latter was quite tempting because, well, it was raining, and it’s always hard to make yourself go out on the bike in the rain when you don’t absolutely have to.

Of course, for those of you all shaking your heads and muttering to yourselves ‘there’s no such thing as bad weather, there’s only bad clothing’ – we’ve dealt with this topic many times before, and I’m afraid it’s total bollocks. Decent rain gear does one thing and one thing only, and that is it makes sitting around after you’ve been riding in the rain more pleasant, because you’re not sloshing about in your socks. However, unless you’re one of those ‘oh I love cycling in the rain it’s so refreshing’ types, in which case you’re a bit strange or possibly just don’t live in South West Scotland so the novelty hasn’t worn off yet, then riding in the rain is not fun.

At this point, I do have to confess that, despite six years of accumulating rain gear and living in a place where there are dozens, if not exactly 600, words for rain reflecting the fact that it rains A LOT, I still do suffer from bad clothing. Or more to the point, I have spent the last few weeks of miraculously fine weather lollygagging about enjoying the sunshine, rather than doing sensible things like re-proofing my everything-but-the-apocalypse jacket, and finding some replacement gloves.

four left hand gloves

Just how does this happen?

Or maybe just some right hand gloves. Because my 100% perfect record of only losing the right glove continues unabated. I have no idea how this happens, but it does. If there’s anyone out there who tends to lose the left glove and who has quite small hands and a fondness for leather driving gloves, please do get in touch and we can work something out.

And for those hanging on with bated breath to find out what I decided: I went out in the rain, and I got wet, and it was fairly miserable, and I came back and got changed into dry clothes and spent the rest of the day feeling glad that I didn’t have to go out in that. Which, on a day like today, counts as a win.

Still, at least I discovered that buzzards don’t like the rain either.

3 Responses to Be Prepared

  1. WOL says:

    I think part of the mystery of the disappearing right hand gloves may have to do with you being right handed, maybe? — Think of all the things you do with your right hand which require you to take off your right glove. As we all know, a glove not on the hand is a glove highly likely to be mislaid.

  2. disgruntled says:

    Makes perfect sense – except I’m left handed. Although I have just noticed that I appear to be right thumbed when using my phone. The glove losses predate my smartphone though

  3. WOL says:

    Oooh, a southpaw!

Leave a Reply

