Spain without the Sunshine?*

The weather was ridiculously nice today, to the point where I was forced into shorts which is patently absurd in Scotland in September. Cycling down to the local shortbread emporium (it pretends it’s a farm shop) for free range pork this morning we couldn’t really say anything coherent to each other than taking it in turns to sigh with contentment as we pedalled in the sunshine.

tree in the sunshine

I still haven’t made up my mind yet (I’m doing my homework though) but if I were David Cameron and I really wanted to save the union,** I’d be praying for rain. In weather like this it’s hard to pay attention to the dire warnings of even the most eminent of economists. It’s not called the dismal science for nothing…

Let’s see which way the weather gods vote, eh?

* Paul Krugman’s verdict on an independent Scotland within a monetary union.

** Actually, if David Cameron really wants to save the union he shouldn’t be up in Scotland telling it how much he loves it, he should be back in Westminster announcing the repeal of the bedroom tax, an end to reforming the NHS into a hole in the ground, and mounting a robust defence of the UK’s place in the EU and the free movement of people. Oh. So he doesn’t want it that much then? As you were, Scotland

7 Responses to Spain without the Sunshine?*

  1. livinginabox says:

    I wouldn’t buy a second-hand bike from anyone who repeatedly failed to answer entirely reasonable questions about the provenance of this ‘too good to miss’ bargain bike.

    ‘Too good to miss’, or ‘too good to be true’?

  2. Max Hadley says:

    My big worry if yes win – what will happen to the Shipping Forecast? It keeps me awake at nights!

    Max

  3. disgruntled says:

    Livinginabox – I do feel that if there had been some serious negotiation between the two sides about what would happen in the event of a yes vote, then the whole decision would be a lot easier. Far too many pigs in pokes being offered on both sides at the moment
    Max – but half the shipping forecast is already ‘abroad’ – Iceland, Faroes, German Bight…

  4. Strange argument from Paul Krugman. He makes it sound as if Canada has gained its independence from the US and isn’t suffering because it has its own currency – in his own words, what the heck? And if he is so keen on the union, I expect he will be advocating the US rejoins the UK because they’ve made such a terrible fist of the whole ridiculous independence lark.

    My view is that a whole range of issues will have to be negotiated. SNP and Yes are putting a positive vision of how the negotiations will turn, the BT are putting a negative spin on how they would turn out.

    Did you see the Scotsman’s editorial coming out in favour of No? I thought it was strange, again. First they say there’s no question Scotland could be a successful small nation, then spends the rest of the article saying why it couldn’t be. Once you concede the point that we could go it alone quite successfully, then the rest of the argument becomes one of the heart, not the head.

    I’ve asked myself, what is the very worst that could happen, and then asked myself how likely that is to happen. Same with the very best that could happen and how likely that would be. After having done all my homework, read extensively on both sides, it just seems to me that the likelihood falls on the side of the better outcome.

    • livinginabox says:

      Paul,
      It looks like you really didn’t understand the Krugman article. I have to ask, did read it? Plus Krugman is an economist and has a Nobel prize too, so he’s not just any old economist. You may not like what he’s said, but it’s easy to accept uncritically what one wants to hear. I’m not an economist so I’m taking Krugman at his word, and what he said makes sense. I don’t believe he’s biased. I also don’t have a vote, so I don’t see that as important.

      The ‘yes’ campaign is one of those ‘the grass is greener on the other side’ types of argument. It might be, or it might not be and where there is opportunity there is uncertainty, there will certainly be wolves waiting in the undergrowth for the unwary.
      The exercise has undeniably woken up the UK and with greater devolved powers the Union will be better for it, for Wales as well as Scotland. So a a ‘no’ vote will benefit Scotland at little risk, while a ‘yes’ vote may or may not benefit Scotland (that remains to be seen), but with a much greater level of inherent risk.
      —–
      I saw some of the coverage on the campaign last night on BBC and I was astonished and shocked at the levels of venom and vituperation that made it for me at least, utterly unwatchable. There was much heat but little light and I don’t know who if anyone was being honest / lying / obfuscating.

      It looks like Scotland may well be riven for decades to come by the after-effects of the plebiscite.

      If it’s a ‘yes’ and it all goes horribly wrong, I foresee there will be consequences.

  5. disgruntled says:

    Hmm, I might have to reinstate my rule about comments not being longer than the original post …

Leave a Reply

