Going in for a Service

Right, that’s it, I’m going in for my hernia op tomorrow. I have prepared by taking out as many books from the library as I can fit in my pannier bag, ordering half of Amazon, and arranging to borrow a dog for walks so I don’t go insane on my enforced period of uncycling.

That said, it might not be as long as I feared. I was talking to my mum, who had a similar operation a few years back about how long it took her to recover. ‘It can’t have been that long,’ she said, ‘as I was in Afghanistan shortly afterwards.’

Possibly time for me to stop being such a drama queen about it all, I think…

8 Responses to Going in for a Service

  1. Just so long as it is a dog that is well behaved on the lead! I can’t think a ‘pully dog’ would be good for your health. Hope all goes well.

  2. Sue greig says:

    Good luck. I’ll call you soon to see how it’s going. R had a similar op a couple of years ago and survived to tell the tale. He was full of admiration of the care he got at DGRI.

  3. Andy in Germany says:

    Hope all goes well. Having been there three times (Hernias are a family curse) I can testify that you will survive, and you will be able to ride again, probably sooner than you think…

  4. disgruntled says:

    Thanks guys…

    The dog is impeccably well-behaved and a bit of an old lady now. We can totter along the road together.

  5. CJ says:

    Wishing you all the very best for a swift recovery. CJ xx

  6. Robert Littlewood says:

    My hospital advice:
    1. Milk it for every possible ounce of drama you can;
    2. Never say no to more painkillers;
    3. Take earplugs;
    4.. Get a Kindle/iSlab so you don’t have to carry all of those books.

    Good luck.

  7. Flighty says:

    Take care, and happy reading! xx

  8. disgruntled says:

    Thanks everyone. All seems to have gone well, I’m back home and on the sofa with the woodburner lit (no Rayburn yet…). Fortunately didn’t have to stay in overnight so no earplugs required (and they were generous with the painkillers).

Leave a Reply

