Oh the Excitement

Apologies for the light blogging recently – the sad truth is I just haven’t had much to blog about. I’ve taken advantage of my enforced near house arrest to get on with beating my latest novel into something vaguely readable, and while I do pride myself on being able to spin something blogworthy out of the least promising material having managed to churn out a daily blog post about my commute back in another lifetime, even I can’t pretend there’s anything more to say about walking down to the village and back followed by half an hour spent staring at a screen, adding in a nicely placed comma and then – after another hour’s reflection – taking it out again. On the plus side, not going anywhere is doing wonders for our bank balance – I’ve been carrying around the same £10 note for almost two weeks now.

But yesterday I had a meeting in town (and by ‘meeting’ of course I mean lunch, gossip, cake, coffee and a little bit of popup bookshop planning) followed by writers group in the evening when we were made to act out dialogue (and I discovered that – two years of aggressive non-aggression on twitter notwithstanding – I really love a good barney as long as it’s just pretend) and I was as giddy as a schoolgirl. Domestication has its virtues, but I long to be able to be independently mobile again (and yes, Mum, I could drive myself. But I am trying to cut down on unnecessary car journeys, and besides the other half has hidden the car keys*). A good 90% of everyone I speak to agrees that it would be daft to start cycling too soon and undo the NHS’s good work and I agree, I really do. But I dreamt last night I got back on the bike again.

And it was wonderful.

sailing through a puddle

* not really. Well, probably not really, although I haven’t actually looked. He did look a bit panicked when I suggested driving somewhere the other day.

4 Responses to Oh the Excitement

  1. commuterjohn says:

    You won’t have much of a chance of undoing the good work of the NHS when you get back on your bike, for me it was a killer just on a round the block trial.
    That’s when you think you are seriously unwell or very unfit from riding the bike and the slow climb back to feeling alive again riding the bike starts.
    It feels brilliant when you get back there again!

  2. bob says:

    Re: the ten pound note. I made a similar discovery when I quit smoking many many years ago. And it was only a few bucks, I was never so flush with cash to have a whopping ten pounds on me.
    Anyway, I got to about mid week, and was shocked to find money in my pocket that I hadn’t squandered on smokes. It’s a curious thing. Money in the pocket, that is.

  3. john gibson says:

    half an hour spent staring at a screen, adding in a nicely placed comma and then – after another hour’s reflection – taking it out again.
    Gosh, you are in good company there.

    I was working on the proof of one of my poems all the morning, and took out a comma. In the afternoon I put it back again.
    John

  4. disgruntled says:

    @commuterjohn – I’m hoping the walking I’m doing will keep my fitness up but it’s different muscles so I may get a shock
    @Bob – I’m sure inflation may have played a part in that. I don’t think a few bucks would buy you much in the way of smokes these days
    @John – I may have dallied with the odd semi-colon to boot

Leave a Reply

