And Back

My journey home was something of a descent from the sublime of East Coast first class (courtesy of Rachel Aldred’s East Coast Points and very gratefully received) as far as Newcastle, to the the volume-turned-up-to-eleven of a Northern Rail service full of northerners on a Saturday night (suddenly the sullen silence of a train full of Londoners didn’t seem so bad) as far as Carlisle, to the train to Bigtown complete with blocked and ever-so-gently sloshing toilet and enlivened by the addition of three rather respectable looking women in their fifties who got on at Gretna with a half-empty bottle of pink sparkling wine which they proceeded to empty over the conductor’s feet (he took it remarkably calmly, I have to say). So I was glad to get home, although I would have been gladder had a missing comma in my email to the other half not transformed our supper plans from a pizza from the place in Bigtown with the special pizza-dough rolling machine into emergency toast and peanut butter …

Still, he had made chocolate-chip banana bread (don’t knock it till you’ve tried it) so all was not lost. In other news, it has not stopped raining since I returned. Stand by for ford updates, you have been warned.

5 Responses to And Back

  1. Charles says:

    Scotland has been under water all week. My house had a schnorkel from a U Boat so we were ok.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Banana bread is good. Sound very good with chocolate in it.
    Many years ago going from Glasgow to London I got a pizza and took it on the train to eat. I then asked for another one for latter on when I thought I may be a bit peckish. The pizza was great, but when I opened the box to eat the other one, the guy had not cooked it. I think he thought I would put it in the oven when I got home.
    John

  3. disgruntled says:

    Charles – and more to come, if the forecast is anything to go by (quite a big if)
    John – ha – I suppose you can see his reasoning, unless you’re a fan of cold pizza

  4. bob says:

    You of all people should know the importance of proper punctuation.
    *ahem*
    That banana bread sounds like a great combo. (I put that second part in so you would be distracted from my first somewhat less than gracious comment.)
    🙂

  5. disgruntled says:

    Bob – the irony had not escaped me

Leave a Reply

