Doctor’s Orders

Tentatively, and rather dazzled by the light, my bike emerged out of the darkness…

bike emerging from the shed

OK, so it hasn’t quite been six weeks. In fact, strictly speaking, it has only just been five weeks, but what’s a week here and there when the sun has emerged after the rain and you’ve been stuck indoors for what feels like forever? And besides, technically I have not been told not to cycle by a doctor, only the nurses… Even so, I promised the other half that I would take it gently and I did, only going as far as the waterfall and back – less than three miles. I’d have barely been out of the house but I stopped to chat to Sheepdog School man and ended up getting half his life story (I’m not sure whether I have a face that attracts stories, or whether it’s just that men who spend large parts of their time standing alone in a field with nobody to talk to but their dog will talk to anyone about anything for ever, given the chance. I suspect it’s a bit of both, plus a little bit of people hoping they’ll end up in my next book…).

Sticks and waterfall

Anyway, despite yesterday’s deluge, the waterfall was looking disappointingly tame, although it had gained some impressive-looking sticks to play with. It would be something to see one of those come tumbling down the river.

6 Responses to Doctor’s Orders

  1. Sue Greig says:

    Take it easy………………What you doing next Thursday (6th) – could come over for a cup of tea and see how you are doing?

  2. disgruntled says:

    You’d be very welcome!

  3. Charles Lock says:

    I hope you got the other half to pump up the tyres and checked the brakes first. After all the bike has had a nice rest and might have ideas of its own.

  4. disgruntled says:

    Ahem. *I* checked the tyres and oiled the chain, which had gone into basket-of-kittens mode. I did let the other half hold the bike while I did it though.

  5. Robert Littlewood says:

    “Only the nurses” !!! Shame on you 🙂

    I stuck to the instructions scrupulously – I was in Poland on the last day of the six weeks and immediately went out and hired a bike.

  6. disgruntled says:

    @Robert – you’re a better man than I am, clearly

Leave a Reply

