A Bit Late for Halloween

Nobly this morning I cycled down to the village to help plant daffodils in weather that alternated between grim and merely unpleasant.

Daffodil planting

this had better look extremely bright and cheerful come spring,…

Due to my post-operative status I wasn’t allowed anywhere near a spade (I did try), meaning that, while people a good twenty years my senior laboured over the stony soil, I was just swanning after them placing the bulbs in the holes they had dug. As I was making sure they were all (mostly) pointy side up, I noticed that some of the holes were beautifully neat and deep and sharply squared off.

Planted daffodils

‘Ah well, those will be Colin’s,’ somebody said. ‘He used to be the gravedigger, you know.’

I suppose, at least this will be one burial where the occupants are pretty much guaranteed to rise again.

4 Responses to A Bit Late for Halloween

  1. bob says:

    Years ago we planted daffoldils out in front of the house. I think the bloody squirrels have dug up and consumed at least half of them.

  2. disgruntled says:

    I don’t think our red squirrels will bother – but the badgers might

  3. john gibson says:

    ‘Ah well, those will be Colin’s,’ somebody said. ‘He used to be the gravedigger, you know.’

    That is priceless.
    John

  4. disgruntled says:

    It amused me enough at the time to endanger my stitches

Leave a Reply

