I Don’t Care What the Weather Bomb Says

Despite the latest warnings from the BBC Terror Centre, the weather didn’t actually look too bad today – until I ventured outside. We’re extremely sheltered just around the house but as I headed up to the veg plot I was soon hit by the biting blustery wind and icy spatters of rain. My plan to run a few errands on the bike (Bigtown’s bollards aren’t going to measure themselves) got quickly rearranged for something more sedentary. But attractive as sitting by the Rayburn might be, there’s a limit to how much time one can spend holed up in the kitchen and stay sane.

If only there was some way I could get outside and do some gardening without getting frozen, drenched and blown away…

greenhouse door

Oh.

Gardeners’ Question Time recently described the nation’s greenhouses as little isolated pockets of Mediterranean climate at the bottom of every garden. They meant as a habitat for weeds and for pests – but they also make rather a nice habitat for the average winter gardener. I spent a happy couple of hours this lunchtime listening to the rain blattering against the glass – and basking in the odd burst of welcome sunshine – repotting the more desperately overcrowded of my mystery perennials and generally pottering about with the radio on.

mystery perennials

I think I’m going to like having a greenhouse.

2 Responses to I Don’t Care What the Weather Bomb Says

  1. Flighty says:

    I’m a touch envious as a greenhouse is something I’d like to have. xx

  2. disgruntled says:

    Any advice on what to grow welcomed!

Leave a Reply

