Rising Above

frost and fog

The ride to the papershop did not look a particularly inviting prospect this morning. It wasn’t just the fog, or the ice on the road, but the sheer biting coldness of it all. But the paper wasn’t going to fetch itself, and besides, what is the point of having magical ice tyres if you’re going to be frightened of a bit of a chill? So, having taken the precaution of leaving a jumper warming on the Rayburn for my return, I set off.

sun breaking through

By the time I’d got through the village I was pretty glad I’d opted for the lobster gloves because the fog and the cold were unrelenting. At least I more or less had the roads to myself. In fact, I seemed to have the whole countryside to myself.

above the fog

As the road wound upwards, though, I started to climb out into the sunshine. There’s something about seeing the blue sky and the sun breaking through the last thinning veil of mist that leaves everything extra saturated and bright.

Ready to descend back into the murk once more.

back into the fog

I was glad of that jumper when I got home, I can tell you.

5 Responses to Rising Above

  1. John says:

    It’s like the four seasons in four very impressive photos.

  2. Flighty says:

    Terrific atmospheric pictures. xx

  3. disgruntled says:

    @John – I suppose (if most of them are rather wintry…)
    @Flighty – thanks.

  4. Charles says:

    Love the lobster gloves, I might try them hill walking. As I use two walking poles you need to be able to grab them and if wet you cannot get your fingers into the gloves. Great idea.

  5. disgruntled says:

    They really do keep your fingers much warmer than other kinds of gloves.

Leave a Reply

