Overshod

As bright sides go, ‘Oh good, it’s raining and I’ll get a chance to test my new overshoes’ is pretty weak, to be honest, but it was the best I could come up with today as I contemplated heading out on the bike for the paper. The other half had kindly offered to fetch it for me, but sadly in recent weeks I have been suffering from an inbalance of calories in and calories out and, despite not eating any cake for a whole week, it doesn’t appear to be getting any better* so a cycling I must go, or take drastic measures like eat less or go trouser shopping, both of which are – marginally – worse than an hour long cycle in the rain. And besides, I’d get to test out my new Sealskinz overshoes.**

overshoes

Which are not Waterproof in Scotland.

under my overshoes

I suppose the first thing to say about my new overshoes is that they’re technically not supposed to be waterproof – they’re neoprene, which simply means that eventually you get wet but you’re warm and wet, rather than cold and wet. The second thing is that they’re probably not designed to be worn with a pair of moleskin trousers tucked into them – although I can report that once you’ve done that, they make extremely good trouser clips. They’re ninja black from the front but have all sorts of reflective doodads at the back, which was handy as it turned out to be not just wet but rather foggy on the way back. They’re a lot easier to put on than the Leggits(!) which is a point in their favour (although a bonus with the Leggits(!) was that by the time you’d got them AND the rain skirt on, it had normally stopped raining). And they do keep your feet warm: my toes felt positively toasty, which they don’t normally do although I’d need to try them on a colder day to see how effective they really are. Will they replace wellies as my go to wet weather cycling footwear? Probably only if I’m going into town rather than down to the papershop, although I may wear them for things like group rides to try and impress any real cyclists who turn up, as they tend to look at me a bit funny if I show up in wellies.

So in summary, overshoes: easy to use, nice and warm, don’t really keep you as dry as cycling in wellies but don’t make you look any madder than you already do just by cycling in the rain when people have invented this perfectly good alternative called the car.

I think I may be beginning to realise why I’m not getting sent any kit to review.

*typically, Twitter’s reaction to this sad news was that clearly I should eat more cake. This is why I love Twitter.

** Christmas loot, rather than a sign that my extensive blogging career is resulting in any free stuff. Come on cycling gear manufacturers – don’t you want to get the invaluable “tested by Townmouse and certified not just waterproof but Waterproof in Scotland” imprimatur on your kit?

5 Responses to Overshod

  1. Claire C says:

    I cracked out the overshoes a wee while back for the first time. Mine were definitely waterproof and did the job well, but I found them ridiculously restrictive across the ankles, resulting in a stodge waterfall cascading around the bottom of my feet as ankle fat squeezed through (I didn’t even realise I had ankle fat until that fateful day). I also reviewed them, and also strangely have received no clothing review requests from manufacturers 😉

  2. disgruntled says:

    Oh great, a whole new body part to feel self conscious about!!

  3. […] the paper this morning in minus whatever temperatures but I did have the bright idea of trying the overshoes again and it was a revelation – no more frozen toes, which is a bonus for a chilblain […]

Leave a Reply

