Snow Day

sun and snow

Well, I needn’t have worried about missing out on all the snow – there was plenty left today, and it was a gloriously sparkling day to boot.

chain oil on hands

I really must remember to moisturise with something other than bike grease…

But first I had to get my hands dirty – and at least try and get the hang of swapping my wheels around to put my ice tyres back on the bike. It’s not that I don’t know what to do – it’s the actual doing I struggle with, from making sure the wheels are on straight, to doing the bolts up tight enough that they’ll stay that way, to adjusting the brakes (annoyingly, the ice-tyre wheels are a different width), to translating ‘lefty loosey, righty tighty’ into actually turning the spanner in the correct direction. Even turning my bike upside down is a bit of a struggle, but I managed about two-thirds of the wheel changing process, and then let the other half finish off the tricky bit of getting the wheels on straight. What I probably need is more practice … and if the weather continues the way it’s been recently, I’ll be getting plenty of that.

It was worth it in the end, though.

sun and snow and road

Sunny, snowy, winter days never get old…

4 Responses to Snow Day

  1. Bob says:

    Once upon a time, changing out bike tires was something about which I would never think twice.
    The last time it crossed my mind though, was when we lived in the Netherlands, and I had the bright idea to replace the ageing inner tube (het binneband) on a bike left behind by our landlord. After sizing up the situation, (there was a chain guard, skirt guard, along with some sort of hub brakes) I chose to cough up the 25 Euros and leave it to the pros.
    I admire you tenacity.

  2. disgruntled says:

    Ah, this is changing the wheels, not the tyres – that’s involves much more swearing. And no chain guard, etc. to deal with either

  3. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful photograph of snowy scene. Less so your hands! X

  4. john gibson says:

    Thanks for the nice snowy photo’s. I get the best of both worlds down here, sitting in the warm, while seeing some nice snow.
    John

Leave a Reply

