Falling Behind

I hardly dare mention this, but we’ve had over a week now of clear skies and bright winter sunshine. Of course, clear skies also come with hard overnight frosts – but also a brilliant full winter moon that was a welcome companion riding back from the village the other night, with only a rather feeble battery-powered lamp to guide me home. The snow is still sticking around but that just makes the sunshine brighter, and in February we are none of us going to turn our noses up at a bit of extra light, wherever it comes from.

Cold though it is, even February marches on. I was reminded this morning that time stops for nobody, and gardeners least of all. I haven’t got my seed order in yet – hell, I haven’t even thought about it – but my gardening buddy in the village has already got his first tomato seeds in, and his onion sets sprouting on the windowsill. Time to get myself up to the greenhouse and get back in gear. Just as soon as I can find my vegetable beds under their blanket of snow…

3 Responses to Falling Behind

  1. Flighty says:

    I’m all ready to get plotting again once better, warmer arrives. xx

  2. Bob says:

    I brought the seed starting paraphernalia in from the shed, but was informed that it was “too early” to start anything. Whatever.

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Flighty – I’m never that organised
    @Bob – I think we’re going to have to get going earlier this year because of the greenhouse. Definitely too early otherwise

Leave a Reply

