Offline

We’ve been visiting my parents’ for the last few days, enjoying an enforced broadband holiday due to either incompetence on BT’s part or the incredible coincidence of my parents’ router stopping working at exactly the same time as their engineers were doing something to the lines locally.

I’d love to say that I took the opportunity to free myself from the tyranny of the screen, reconnect with my loved ones, and made the most of this opportunity to get on with the things that really matter; I’ll leave it up to you to imagine how much time I instead spent pecking away at emails on my phone and fleeing to the free WiFi (but rather expensive beverages) of Costa Coffee in Berwick when things got out of hand.

However, it has allowed me to boil my blogging down to the following concentrated essence. I might not have gained much time out of the experience, but look how much time you have saved:

 

potato day sold out

Potato day. Starts at 11:00 am. Do not, whatever you do, arrive any later than, say 11:15…

Sally Port gate in Berwick

You’ve got to love a town that reserves a special gate just for you

snow on hills

Home again. Clouds gathering over Bigtownshire, as per usual

4 Responses to Offline

  1. Bob says:

    It’s an insidious drug, this “internet” thing.

  2. Andy in Germany says:

    Where does the gate go?

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Bob – almost as addictive as this ‘cycling’ thing…
    @Andy – it runs through the city walls of Berwick onto the quayside

  4. jill says:

    I’ve noticed it always the Charlottes that sell out first.

Leave a Reply

