Shiny, Shiny

Hurrah for the local bike shop: despite the fact that they were booked solid with servicing until Thursday, after an SOS call yesterday morning they managed to squeeze my bike in and it is now restored (almost) to working order.

new rear mechanism

(‘you might notice it’s a bit cleaner too,’ bike shop man said dryly as I took possession. Ahem. Yes. I had noticed …)

The timing was perfect too – we were having lunch with friends (and sorting out this year’s seed order, of which more anon) so we could swing by the bike shop on the way back. Not only that, but the morning’s rain had cleared and the sun had come out and I was able to test their handiwork the best possible way: by riding the bike home. Not only that, but it counts as an errand – I hummed and hawed over the category and decided it counted as ‘Personal care’, because bikes are people too, and besides I’ve already used up my quota for ‘store’.

The only slight fly in the ointment was that although it now has a shiny new chain, and shiny new gears at the back and a shiny new derailleur, they didn’t have the right bits to replace the middle ring of the gears at the front, which is the only one I ever use. Mixing a shiny new chain with a worn out old set of gears is a recipe for disaster, so until the new part is in, I’m under instructions to only use the big ring and the granny ring at the front. Obviously I wasn’t going to use the granny gears, so the big ring it was…

Which, with a stiffish headwind, meant I felt every one of those eight miles home. But happy to have my bike back home and in one piece.

Spring sunshine

Category: personal care, distance 8 miles, observation: there’s a reason why I only ever use the middle ring.

5 Responses to Shiny, Shiny

  1. Andy in Germany says:

    Oops. I meant to comment here, but clicked on the previous post by mistate. Sorry about that…

  2. Robert Littlewood says:

    I don’t get why you can’t use the little ring. Is it the name? If they were called grandad gears, would you be able to use them?

  3. disgruntled says:

    Even worse I’m afraid Robert… you just don’t use the little gears. It’s like putting your hood up on your coat

  4. Robert Littlewood says:

    Hmmm … are you starting your own rural splinter group of the velominati? http://www.velominati.com/the-rules/

    I’m going to start putting my coat hood up now.

  5. disgruntled says:

    Heh. I think they’re just the rules of being a child in the 70s…

Leave a Reply

