Repositioning Flight

Cycling back from yoga today I was puzzled by a noise – what appeared to be the sound of voices, coming from somewhere over the hills. It sounded like a crowd of people, perhaps spectators at a race, or maybe a rugby match, crying out their support. But that couldn’t be and as I pedalled on I realised that it was in fact a flight of whooper swans heading purposefully over the river and then turning north. Perhaps just foraging … or perhaps returning to Iceland to breed. I stopped to watch them on their way but by the time I’d thought to get my phone out and take a picture, they were a less than impressive sight. You’ll just have to take my word for it that they were swans.

Whooper Swans

Whooper swans. Honest

It was also all change in yoga this morning – after a three week absence, I have once more lost my spot to a newcomer but I am not the only person who’s been skipping classes: Yoga Bunny did not show so I have reclaimed my corner. Whether I will be able to hold it against all comers, I don’t know. But it was good to be back in home territory again…

3 Responses to Repositioning Flight

  1. charles says:

    Worth zooming in to see them, they do exist! I also saw a proper Brompton being folded up prior to getting onto the Thameslink at 07:10 this morning.

    If you live in London your chances of spotting exotic wildlife are quite slim so you have to take what you can get.

  2. disgruntled says:

    Bromptons hardly count as exotic in London these days …

  3. Charles says:

    We have green parrots, apparently they escaped after the filming of African Queen and have been breeding around our part of North London ever since.

Leave a Reply

