Lessons Learned

Exciting times: my seed order has arrived!

seed packets

Every year I seem to leave getting my seeds a little later, but that’s okay because according to the proper gardeners, the great peril up here is planting things too early, so the fact that I’ve only just got my parsnips and broad beans now when the packet says plant February-April isn’t a bug, it’s a feature. Especially as we’ve been getting overnight frosts for most of this week.

And lest that sound as if I know what I’m talking about, a small confession. I have been filling my watering can at the water butt in the walled garden for about 5 years now, struggling with the little tap, which has become somewhat loose and difficult to manage, waiting ages for the watering can to fill up, wrestling it from under the tap once it is full (there’s not much space under the tap, and when I dug out a hole to make more room, the moles just filled it in again) spilling half the water in the process. And it was only about a week ago (now that I am having to water my greenhouse and hence having to repeat this operation every day), that it occurred to me that I could just lift the top off the water butt and dip the watering can in and fill it in seconds.

I’d calculate how much cumulative time I had wasted, but it would just be too depressing. So instead I just put it out there in case there’s anyone else similarly dim who might benefit. Feel free to mock me roundly in the comments…

5 Responses to Lessons Learned

  1. Paul Gipson says:

    At least you are learning lessons.

    More than 30 years ago the Ministry of Defence renamed its procurement reviews from ‘Lessons learned’ to ‘Lessons identified’. Obviously it has never changed the name back.

  2. Charles says:

    Comments are a bit light of late. I have been coming to the same hotel in Botswana on business now for five years, and this week I learned how to program the safe, after patiently watching the porter do it, maybe 30 times…

    Three weeks to go to the great expedition to Lewis and Harris, we come back on the same day as you pedal on parliament, so I think we will return via Glasgow, so your cycling posts are useful even to car drivers!

  3. Andy in Germany says:

    I have the same excuse for my lateness in getting seeds and sowing, which is ironic as I’m probably close on a thousand kilometres south of you, but we are also a very long way from the sea and high up, with the Alps to the south.
    We also have the problem that we’re usually away around harvest time, so I’m determined to make sure I’m organised this year so I don’t get a glut while I’m away.
    Will let you know how well that works out…

  4. WOL says:

    In re: The water butt “I could have just. . .”, we have that kind of realization thing here in the States, too. We call them “Duh…” moments. I’m starting a club, if you’d care to join. . .

  5. disgruntled says:

    Paul – well, I suppose that’s honest of them
    Charles – you could always get hold of a bike & join us
    Andy – it’s harder going on holiday with a garden than it is with a pet…
    WOL – I think we’d all be life-members

Leave a Reply

