All Talk

I was out on the bike delivering the village newsletter today* reacquainting myself with the cunning places everyone hides their letter boxes and driving the neighbourhood dogs into a complete frenzy (well, everyone’s got to have a hobby). One of my least favourite is a dog which looks like a big teddy bear but has had a go at me in the past whose owners leave it running free in the garden. Thankfully, the letter box is on the gate so you don’t have to tangle with the dog directly, but the gate is not very high, and the letter box is basically at dog height and the whole arrangement feels somewhat unsafe especially as all the time you’re trying to fold up the damn newsletter and stuff it in the narrow slot of the box, the dog is going round in circles, launching itself periodically at your hand. This was made all the more frightening, somehow, by the way the dog doesn’t bark or growl at all, just circles around in silence to have another shot.

My next port of call was the place where my old enemy Growly Dog lives and it’s a similar arrangement of flimsy gate, narrow slotted letterbox, and rabidly anti-cyclist canine so I wasn’t looking forward to the experience. Growly Dog came galloping down to meet me and barked, as expected but as I parked my bike, got out the newsletter and started folding it up to stuff it in the slot, she was completely thrown. Instead of barking or even growling she just gave a sort of whimper and backed away, casting accusing glances in my direction. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised, but I actually ended up feeling quite sorry for her. I wonder if ASBO buzzard is similarly timid if confronted. I’ll have to find someone who’s braver than me to find out…

In other news, the wet weather means the frogspawn is still hanging in there, and one thing about them being in a tiny pocket of water not much bigger than the mass of frogspawn itself, is that you can see the little tadpoles developing inside (or at least you could if my cameraphone was any better). It’s been wet enough so far that they haven’t dried out; I’m not sure I can bring myself to wish that situation to continue…

developing tadpoles

Frogspawn. Honest.

*I probably should have used the car, but I’ve failed miserably on my challenge already, sorry. Just too difficult and besides, I was faster on the bike than the postman was in his little red van.

4 Responses to All Talk

  1. “she just gave a sort of whimper and backed away, casting accusing glances in my direction”
    Her owner hits her with a rolled up newspaper. 😦

  2. Carry a box of gravy bones with you. They are the canine equivalent of crack cocaine. Give one to the dog.The next time you visit it will remember and will be sat there wagging it’s tail waiting for you to give it another one.

    http://www.pet-supermarket.co.uk/Products/CN144015/pedigree-gravy-bones-dog-biscuits?utm_source=google&utm_source=cpc&utm_campaign=ps_productTargets&CAW

  3. disgruntled says:

    @rebecca – or the postman does…
    @Michael – ooh, now there’s a plan. And then I can take up burglary

  4. Andy in Germany says:

    There’s an Alsatian near our garden that comes running towards you, barking its head off while the owner wanders along saying ‘It’s okay, she won’t bite…”
    That is the only real problem dog near here, thankfully.

Leave a Reply

