Loveliest of Trees the Cherry Now

I had a last minute Guardian Bike Blog piece to write yesterday for Pedal on Parliament and was finding it difficult to get started, so there was nothing for it but to get myself onto my bike and hope that the words would come. I do all my best thinking on a bike, or at least that’s how it seems at the time. And besides, it was just too nice to be anywhere but outdoors.

spring trees

I even inveigled the other half along. He’s the tiny red dot, providing a bit of contrast to the first spring leaves of the trees. He’s not much one for riding at the speed of chat.

Blackthorn blossom

No cherries here (I spotted a glorious one in the middle of a wood from a train window this weekend though and have had an AE Houseman earworm ever since), so blackthorn will have to do. But frankly, all trees have a special loveliness when they first flush into leaf. I can’t get enough of that tender green.

And did I find inspiration? Well, it’s not exactly Houseman, but you can judge for yourself here.

More tree-and-cycling related shenanigans tomorrow, if I’m spared.

4 Responses to Loveliest of Trees the Cherry Now

  1. Bob says:

    Highly recommend a tandem, he can cycle as fast as he likes, and you can continue to chat to him. However fast he cycles he can’t get away from you.

  2. disgruntled says:

    haha, I tried a tandem once, I think it goes better if your trouser leg doesn’t get caught in the chain.

  3. Flighty says:

    The blossom has been noticeably good this year. xx

  4. Gail Rehbein says:

    I find the same….I often find inspiration for writing when I’m riding.

Leave a Reply

