Time, Gentlemen, Please

After a spectacularly dry spring, normal weather service has resumed which means only one thing: slugs, and the re-opening of my ever popular slug pubs.

Somewhat too popular, perhaps. Nobody likes a pub where you can barely cram yourself in, especially if the other clientele have already drunk themselves into oblivion.

slug pub

Kicking out time at the Slug and Lettuce

Still it didn’t seem to be putting the slugs off. I have to admit I watched with a mixture of guilty fascination and unholy glee as a total of four slugs approached the edge of just one of the traps and proceeded to slowly immerse themselves. I just have to tell myself they die happy.

I couldn’t count the number of slugs I empted out of the traps – I did think about taking a photo of the colander-full that resulted but it was too revolting even for me (again). Certainly a satisfyingly large amount, albeit not enough to save some of the lettuce seedlings which have already gone missing. There won’t be a slug shortage around here any time soon.

2 Responses to Time, Gentlemen, Please

  1. Flighty says:

    My mum used to walk round the garden first thing with a sharp knife in one hand and a cup of tea in the other. xx

  2. disgruntled says:

    I’m too squeamish to stab them!

Leave a Reply

