Unfurling

We’re off on our holidays on Monday – two weeks of sunshine* in Colorado with a side trip to Southern California.

I had thought that the last few weeks would be a time of catching up with various tasks that had been neglected in the run up to PoP, getting my garden ready, and generally enjoying the delights of spring. I don’t know WHY I thought this, because it seems to be an iron law that you never get less busy, only more so, and besides, a gardener’s work is never done, even if the gardener in question hasn’t ended up with two big freelance work deadlines on top of each other.

I did manage to escape for a run down to the papershop on the bike today, and caught the woods just at the point before the bluebells burst properly into flower.

bluebells not quite in flower

I’ll be quite sad to miss them in their pomp, but I am looking forward to the break… And only another million things to finish before I can go and enjoy it.

* Having said that, I was informed with some satisfaction the other day that Colorado was suffering heavy snow last week (and there’s been heavy rain washing out roads in Pueblo), while I heard on the radio recently that it’s supposed to be an El Nino year this year, which can mean flooding in California. So I’ll be packing the apocalypse-proof jacket just in case…

4 Responses to Unfurling

  1. zungg says:

    I can report that my ride home today comprised 20 minutes of hail and thunder, and 20 minutes of mere heavy rain and thunder. At least the tornadoes kept their distance. The apocalypse-proof jacket ought to be in its element(s).

  2. Flighty says:

    Have a good time. xx

  3. Andy in Germany says:

    Have a good flight. I’ll not be flying anywhere distant this year, thank goodness, but I doubt that means a lot more gardening time…

  4. disgruntled says:

    @Zungg – it’s already had a bit of a workout, although no hail
    @Flighty – thanks
    @Andy – lucky you

Leave a Reply

