Unearthed

Some time back – over four years ago, in fact, and it’s the beauty of the blog that I can work it out exactly – I was working away in the deepest corner of the garden happily planting some pulmonaria plants in an attempt to provide some spring colour. I got about half way through the job and went in with the pulmonaria plants still in one of my blue baskets I use in the garden, thinking I’d be back later to finish it off.

And then the wind got up and a tree uprooted itself in the very bit of the garden I was working in, and by the time we’d cleared the brash and everything had settled back down the moment had passed and the weeds had sprung up and, well, life happened. And I got a bit depressed about the state of that part of the garden – which was never very convincing at the best of times and has now reverted to a bit of a jungle. But then I got my magic shears and got into a hacking sort of mood and several barrow loads of weeds later I stumbled upon this remnant of a lost civilisation

excavated basket

As you can see, the pulmonaria is doing very nicely. And we seem to be growing a replacment tree… (several, actually, now that the weeds have been cleared)

5 Responses to Unearthed

  1. Andy in Germany says:

    It is kind of comforting that I’m not the only one who gets overwhelmed with my garden at times.

    Last week I got into a cutting mood and chopped the brambles back to find an oak tree taller than me…

  2. Charles says:

    Excellent to see that there are others that garden like this. Just had an offer accepted on a barn conversion in Somerset so the great escape gathers pace….

  3. disgruntled says:

    Andy – but surely an oak tree is a bonus!
    Charles – ooh good luck with that … will you be starting a blog?

    • Andy in Germany says:

      The presence of the oak tree is great, but judging by the size it is about three years old and I hadn’t seen it before, despite trottting about 3 feet away every time I took the compost out, which reather shows up my lack of progress with the brambles…

  4. Charles says:

    No excuses now I will have to get on with it. As the garden was designed for two army types with children at boarding school it is very regimented, the grass is short back and sides and no vegetables or annuals allowed. Fantastic south facing garden being wasted so lots to play with. Other half wants to work on the interior but I am sure I can sneak out.

Leave a Reply

