Pottering

Ah, a nice day (even the weather was nice) filled with some of my favourite things – a bike ride into town for coffee and gossip (sorry, I meant an important literary planning meeting), with just enough time to stop and capture the waterfall in full spate (I was still the first one there as my fellow plotters were held up by roadworks, which was obviously annoying for them but rather satisfying for me).

waterfall in spate

And then on the way back, a chance to stop and forage (not as nice as the massacred wild raspberries on our road, but still pretty good and with the advantage of not having been sprayed by some sort of weedkiller)

wild raspberries

And that reminded me we had cultivated raspberries of our own to pick for tonight’s pudding (at least those the blackbirds had left us).

garden raspberries

A little light hassling of the coonsil by email and my day was complete.

This is exactly how you imagine your life will be when you down shift and move to the country. And occasionally it actually is.

5 Responses to Pottering

  1. Jane says:

    Assuming implicit cake – lacking only a ford check to be the picture of perfect rural bliss

  2. disgruntled says:

    Well I was a little abstemious and had a cherry scone. And I also forgot I’d gone to the library (and when you think about it, how amazing is that: there are places where you can just go and get books for free?)

    • Andy in Germany says:

      Libraries are one of the few things I miss: being able to get books in German is okay but not as nice when I just want a good read.

  3. Dayna says:

    Fantastic waterfall! And I love raspberries! Wish I was growing my own… I’ve got six months to wait before getting some good (fresh) ones, though. I’m sure you enjoyed yours 🙂

  4. disgruntled says:

    They were delicious…

Leave a Reply

