In the Nile

We woke to a bright but chilly morning this morning, and condensation on the windows – a sign that for all the warmth of the sun we’re (finally) getting, the end of summer is looming before it has barely got into its stride.

But never mind all that, she says, sticking her fingers into her ears and singing very loudly. For I had a jacket-hat-and-glove-free ride down to the papershop today and there have been very few of those this summer so far. And as I cycled up past one farmyard, I noticed that the steading roof was almost covered in house martins, and they all of them took off at my approach so that the air was filled with their chittering little calls and the flashes of their white rumps in the sunshine.

The fact that I’m sitting here now wishing I had a jumper on, and with darkness outside the window (and it only 9:30pm) is neither here nor there. Summer isn’t over yet … how can it be when it has hardly begun?

5 Responses to In the Nile

  1. 2whls3spds says:

    Summer is still going strong here, however I have noticed the sun is setting a bit earlier. Can’t say I have seen anything that qualifies as chilly. Lowest temp has been maybe 65°F (18°C), with highs in the 90’s (30’sC) that might qualify though…

  2. welshcyclist says:

    I, too, was thinking the same thing, yesterday evening. It seems to have passed so much quicker than I can ever remember before.

  3. Charles says:

    It is not over until September. August was my favourite month as a child as it was the one month that was always 100% holiday, as in no school rather than going away. I still resent having to work in August. On the plus side every day brings me closer to December 31st and my future unemployment! Bring it on!

  4. The blackberries aren’t ripe therefore it is summer.

  5. disgruntled says:

    2whls3spds – if we’ve even got up to 18 degrees this summer I’d be surprised.
    Welshcyclist – it’s the kind of year when you start looking forward to an Indian summer…
    Charles – sadly, the Scottish schools go back in August (they do break up right at the beginning of July) which adds to the end of summer feel
    UHDD – is that how you tell? We’re still getting raspberries, which is very late

Leave a Reply

