Space for Really Rubbish Cycling

In Glasgow today for the first Walk, Cycle, Vote event, I discovered that – with a sufficiently lopsidedly loaded bike, and a sufficiently unskilled bike handler – it was possible to actually come off your bike while stationary in a comedy slow-motion tussle between me and gravity which gravity inevitably won. And no, I wasn’t track standing, I just somehow got tangled up in my bike in a way which even now I don’t fully understand.

There’s been much digital ink spilled over Glasgow’s separated cycle lanes which are, variously, too narrow, too slow, difficult to get onto, and in the wrong places. But I can confirm that if you are going to come off your bike, however slowly and amusingly to any bystanders, that doing it on a kerb-protected bike lane is much preferably to doing it in the road.

Still, once I’d picked myself up and dusted myself down (no harm except to my pride and the perfect imprint of my bicycle frame on my legs) and got to the actual event, it all seemed to go with a swing

I think I might rethink our campaign demands  though. It seems true safety – for me – will never be achieved until they surface any new bike lanes with that bouncy rubber they use for children’s playgrounds.

 

5 Responses to Space for Really Rubbish Cycling

  1. commuterjohn says:

    Dead easy!
    Glad you were unscathed, when I did it I broke my elbow, now imagine how embarrassing it gets by the time you have had to tell about 20 doctors that you came off your bike and no I wasn’t hit by a car, nor was I racing around a corner I just cocked up the gears, came to a rapid stop and…..well you know the rest.

  2. The massive frustration on this ride was the fact that the ridiculously meandering route, of vastly variable quality more than doubled the time most of us would take to get between the points visited, hardly helped by the daftness of safe signalled crossings (sic) where just 3 or 4 of the group got through for each green phase of the lights.

    Speaks volumes that at just before 2pm on a Sunday less than 30 bikes had used the Bridge to Nowhere since the counter was zeroed at midnight, and the S4C ride more than doubled the number counted in under a minute.

  3. Does the bridge to nowhere actually go somewhere now?

  4. charles says:

    Did anyone not notice that were people in T shirts in Glasgow in October and it was not raining?

  5. disgruntled says:

    @John – yikes, hope you’re recovered
    @Dave H, it took us over 5 minutes to get through one of the lights apparently
    @Paul – sort of, it’s on a route west from Central Station. I don’t know Glasgow well enough to know how useful it is, but it’s more useful than when it just stopped in mid air
    @Charles – I know, except most of them were wearing merino baselayers underneath (it was very mild for October though)

Leave a Reply

