Come Back Glasgow, All is Forgiven

After last weekend’s Glasgow adventures, tomorrow the Brompton & I will be off to Aberdeen for another WalkCycleVote ride, this time at the SNP conference. It will be my first trip to the city, but I’ve heard that it’s possibly not the cycle-friendliest place in Scotland. Add in the fact that conferences take place in conference centres, which tend to be on the edge of cities and thus places expecting the answer ‘by car’ and you get the fact that we’ll be exploring roads that look a bit like this

Or as someone on Facebook put it “You’ve got to be brave to cycle in Aberdeen. Don’t you know it’s illegal up here?”

I’ve been rude about both Glasgow’s roads and its cycling infrastructure in the past, but I think I may be about to eat my words.

More on my return. I was going to write ‘if I’m spared’ but that feels a little close to the bone…

4 Responses to Come Back Glasgow, All is Forgiven

  1. Charles says:

    Westonbirt arboretum, cold damp and grey. Scotland, bathed in sunshine. Obviously the weather gods won their devolution vote.

  2. disgruntled says:

    We did get some lovely weather. And you’ll all be glad to know I survived

  3. sarah says:

    That used to be my commute to work. That bus lane is lovely, unless there’s a bus in it.

  4. disgruntled says:

    It was the roundabouts that really didn’t look appealing

Leave a Reply

