Not Single Spies

frosty vegetation

While my more optimistic commenters might believe that after two bike maintenance disasters in a row I was due for a break, I know that the iron law of narrative tripartism determines that all things happen in threes, whether in fiction or in real life.

ice on puddle

So I was encouraged to wake this morning to a sparkly frosty day and an icy ungritted road, with a meeting* to get to long before the sun would have a chance of thawing the worst of it

ice on road

Of course, I thought, here comes the third thing! I have to change to my ice tyres, and my bike maintenance triple will be complete. I set to work and was pleased to discover I had got my wheel-swapping time down to just 15 minutes, not counting the time taken for the other half to further tighten the wheel nuts, explain why I’d used the wrong spanner and generally fail to be impressed at my bike maintenance prowess.

winter spiked tyre

Nothing daunted, I raced off for my meeting, enjoying all the gnarly ice, certain that I’d made the right decision in swapping out my tyres, and arriving at my meeting bang on time.

I suppose none of you will be surprised to learn that when I emerged an hour later, my back tyre was completely flat.

And nor were there any doughnuts.

* And by ‘meeting’, I mean heading to a local coffee shop for bike-related plotting on the promise that Thursday was ‘doughnut day’** and that the doughnuts in question were particularly delicious.

** we cyclists laugh in the face of hidden sugar***

*** Although frankly, if you’re going to hide sugar, a doughnut is a terrible place to do it.

3 Responses to Not Single Spies

  1. 2bikesborg says:

    Great post! I’ve never seen studded bike tyres, but you’ve taken beautiful pictures!

  2. Andy in Germany says:

    If it is any comfort, I’ve finally worn out the gears on the Xtracycle, and yesterday I discovered that the front wheel rin (19 years old) has torn out sideways, probably because of changing the tires last month.
    Now you’ve said this, I’m waiting for the third thing to go wrong…

  3. disgruntled says:

    @2bikes – ah, they’re marvellous if you have to ride regularly on ungritted surfaces
    @Andy – yikes, those sound quite serious (and expensive)

Leave a Reply

