Before a Fall

seeds planted

As I took this photo in the greenhouse yesterday – pleased at having caught up a bit with my gardening backlog and got all the ‘sow by March’ seeds at least started in the greenhouse – I reflected that, over the years, I had managed to pick up a few bits and pieces about this grow-your-own lark (after all, making mistakes is probably the most effective way to learn). While things might change if we move to a new place with new soil and new pests and a different microclimate, at least in my old familiar plot in the walled garden I knew enough to get the growing season off to a good start in a pretty slick operation, even if I did say so myself.

With the other half’s tomatoes and tomatilloes germinating on the kitchen windowsill, and the chillie seeds enjoying the gentle heat of the rayburn, and the seed potatoes chitting nicely at the back of the greenhouse ready to be dug in, I went to bed feeling that we had done a good days’s work.

And woke to a heavy frost. I *think* the seed potatoes should have survived it, but who knows what a seed potato that has succumbed to frost looks like, compared to one that hasn’t?

Certainly not me …

2 Responses to Before a Fall

  1. In my experience a seed potato can resist pretty low temperatures and will be OK unless the water content within the potato was frozen solid. If they were exposed to too low a temperature you will soon know it because the new shoots will wither and die. If that happens I would suggest it is time to buy some replacements.

    The same can happen when they are in the ground which is why I tend to plant mine about 6 inches deep and not before the end of April.

  2. disgruntled says:

    They’ll be lucky if they get in the soil before the end of April this year. I was going to put a few earlies in to the greenhouse though

Leave a Reply

