Nearing the Longest Day

As this time of the year approaches I always suffer from a slight sense of guilt that I’m not out there, enjoying every minute of those long summer days that we’ve looked forward to all through the darkness of winter. There’s so many things I could be doing – gardening, walking, riding my bike – and yet somehow there I am pinned to the sofa by my laptop either working or doing work-shaped things until it’s time to go to bed.

afternoon clouds

Yesterday evening, however, I had been invited to go and talk to a lovely bookgroup about my book. The only catch was, it was fifteen miles away by bike along narrow winding rolling back roads.

the road ahead

Oh what a hardship.

afternoon light

A terrible hardship.

road ahead part two

It didn’t finish until nearly nine, and then it was time to set off again, fortified by cake and a glass (or two – they were small glasses) of wine to the good…

road home

Like I said, a terrible hardship

evening skies

I didn’t get home till it was nearly dusk.

 

3 Responses to Nearing the Longest Day

  1. Viviane says:

    I feel for you… I suggest that you come to France, so you won’t feel the guilt so much, weatherwise.

  2. disgruntled says:

    @Viviane – ha! I have the sneaky feeling we’re getting someone else’s summer this year
    @Reclaiming Paradise – I agree, although I do always feel I should be out enjoying it more than I ever manage

Leave a Reply

