Blue on Blue

painting in progress

With so much going on in politics it seems a bit trivial to be stressing out about paint colours (I was up far too late last night playing with the Dulux virtual room decorating app and ended up dreaming that I was recolouring aspects of the Chilcott Report; insert your own ‘whitewash’ joke here) but then again, as it appears we are to have no say about our next prime minister (and remind me how the Brexit vote was going to be a blow for democracy again?), but I can decide what colour to paint our house, I’ve decided to concentrate on the issues I have some material control over, at least for now.

woodworkAnd besides, the previous owners appear to have either been completely colour blind or actually did have a mind above such trivial matters. The new house is full of varnished wood – every door, skirting board, cupboard and even the ceiling in the bathroom plus a laminate floor – which sounds rather nice until you realise that not one piece of it matches any other piece of it except for the large tracts of knotty pine which have all been stained a colour I can only describe as ‘Donald Trump Orange’.

chandelier

Added to the chandelier in the guest bedroom, the walls of which are painted a sort of mushroom brown that fights bitterly with the purply brown carpet (not to mention the textured ceilings which sadly we can’t afford to do anything about) and you can see why the burning issue of Theresa May versus Andrea Leadsom is fading into the background. No doubt whatever we settle on will turn out to be a horrible design mistake in 20 years time, when some sarcastic blogger will pick over my colour choices with mocking glee, but that is a problem for another day. First there’s a ton of sanding to do …

8 Responses to Blue on Blue

  1. Paul M says:

    When we moved into our current house it had Artex ceilings everywhere. They were almost impossible to repaint properly. Some were so crappy anyway that we ripped them out and redid them, Others we just covered with a plaster skim.

    Floorboards look quite good though

  2. neil says:

    The orangy varnish was an 80s thing wasn’t it?

  3. disgruntled says:

    @Paul – The ceilings I think are textured paper. Probably easy enough to remove, but then you might find out what horrors are lurking beneath (or above, I suppose)
    @Neil – I think so

  4. I’d not trust colour to the Internet, only the eye, that said I can see that shade of varnish in my minds eye right now! I’d dismantle the chandelier and hang some of the glass droplets up in the window to make pretty rainbows when the sun strikes them, sigh, I’m such a child at heart. I’m not sure painting louvre doors is good therapy.. ( Can I ask, are there vertical louvre blinds?)

  5. Autolycus says:

    There are those fabric strip vertical louvre blinds. They almost always seem to get themselves tangled up and messy, and the connecting links break sooner or later. Can’t stand them myself.

    My first flat, it took years to get rid of the woodchip paper and redecorate it to what could be accommodated to my taste, such as it is. By which time, it was all a bit dated anyway. Good luck, is all I can say…..

  6. Charles says:

    I always think it best to do the bulk of the decoration in winter when you cannot do much outside. If you cultivate your ironic urban eye you can pretend it’s a look that has taken years to achieve, which is true. Also you will blend with much of the local community although I suspect you might be thought a closet Brexiteer….

  7. disgruntled says:

    Ha – no vertical louvre blinds but Venetian blinds everywhere! And we’re learning the hard way that there’s no substitute to tester pots to getting any idea what paint colours look like in practice. So far I’ve eliminated 3 colours from our enquiries … several million to go

  8. 2bikesborg says:

    I don’t know much about the blues (at least those in your decorating scheme), but the comedy keeps on coming from our leaders! Instead of 150k or so southerners choose our Prime Minister, we have a process pretty much identical to that of China for choosing a new party leader. It’s a great post though. Room painting seems like a good way to stay focused on the local and immediate after Brexit.

Leave a Reply

