Catching up

tandem school run

Sister and niece doing the tandem school run.

I have been gadding about this weekend and have lots to write about – from an updated school run by tandem to the latest Cycling Embassy AGM jaunt to Cambridge, but those will have to wait until I have time to do them justice. Meanwhile, the other half has been nobly cracking on with the house while I’ve been swanning about in the subtropical south. So I can report that we* have got the first room more or less painted (hello Dulux Almond White) while I have been acquainting myself with updates in the world of DIY (sanding sponges, where have you been all my life?) and finally choosing colours for the rooms we’re* going to paint before the move.

In other news, I went up to the walled garden this morning to open up the greenhouse and a large rabbit sauntered out of my potato beds and sat staring at me in a nonchalant manner before sauntering further into the herbaceous border. This may make the fact that I forgot to leave instructions on watering the next batch of lettuce seedlings somewhat irrelevant, although whatever it is it’s eating now, it’s not the half-bolting lettuces they were supposed to replace…

* And obviously by ‘we’ I mean ‘he’

One Response to Catching up

  1. Charles says:

    London looks way to hot for me. In exciting news I went for my first swim in the sea in the UK for 20 years yesterday. Ok it was only two strokes and some girly screaming but is just shows that you can still be a happy fool in your fifties. I am having to water my strawberries, I thought they liked the heat, turns out that they only think they do but we may get ripe figs any day now. Ok that is enough from smug in Somerset.

    Charles

Leave a Reply

