Moving: A Progression

moving boxes

Moving -1 month: Before we move, I’m going to go through everything and find a home for all that stuff which I’m not using but someone could make use of.

Moving -2 weeks: Well, OK, we don’t have time for that now, but before we move, I *am* going to go through everything and make sure everything that can be recycled gets recycled.

Moving -1 week: Well, OK, we don’t have time for that now, but before we move, I *am* going to go through everything and throw away anything we aren’t going to use again before the bins go out.

Moving -2 days: Wait, is there room in the van for this box of random crap because even though I suspect I don’t need any of it, it’s in a box already and I’m not going to take it out again?

Moving +1 day: Before we move next time, I’m going to go through everything and find a home for all that stuff which I’m not using but someone could make use of …

Just to complicate matters, the new house does not have a wheelie bin, because the rubbish is collected from the road end, which is about 500 yards away from the house. Instead we get an allocation of official coonsil bags to use over the course of the year – anything not in an official coonsil bag won’t get ‘uplifted’ as it is described around here. Only it’s right on the border between Bigtown bin lorry territory and Notso Bigtown bin lorry territory and it seems never the twain shall meet: we can’t pick up our bags from Bigtown because they have to be Notso Bigtown bags, even if they’re actually the same bags and Notso Bigtown is twice as far away as Bigtown. I could have argued the toss on that one, but at this stage in the game (moving -2 days, ish, depending on how things go tomorrow) it’s easier just to go and get the damn bags, move everything to the new house and then throw it all away…

There is final ford news, but it will have to wait until tomorrow.

2 Responses to Moving: A Progression

  1. commuterjohn says:

    You can never move away from the politics of council rubbish collecting.
    Our recycling centre will only allow you in if your in a car, you can’t ride your bike or walk into this eco friendly place and have to show ID that you live in the city.
    The new recycling centre they are building will probably have Iris scanners fitted at the gate!

  2. WOL says:

    I share your pain. I’m in the big middle of moving house myself, and the removal guys come tomorrow for the furniture. I Did a great deal of schlepping of plastic bins from apartment to car to duplex in 95F/35C temperatures at 39% humidity today. Still so much to do.but right now, all I can think about is a shower and bed. Alas, I still have bins to bring in, to deconstruct and load up the computer and other electronics. plus at least one load of clothes to wash &dry before tomorrow when the washer and dryers go on the truck. I downsized severely to move to this apartment, so I’d already done a massive cull. However, there will be more culls of things I won’t be using in the new place.

Leave a Reply

