Food Miles

I have to admit, as I cycled back to the old house this afternoon, I was wondering whether the whole idea of keeping the veg plot on was a brilliant idea. Five miles of cycling there – and more importantly five miles of cycling back, uphill – seemed like a lot of extra cycling just for a few veg. And I knew that things had got a bit out of hand while we were moving and I hadn’t had time to keep on top of things (unlike the rabbit, which has made good use of the time digging itself a new burrow under my beetroot and completely demolishing the French beans, although it’s falling behind on the salad). And it’s not as if I didn’t have plenty of garden at the new house to take in hand, which it desperately needs.

veg plot in august

What is the point of having a resident rabbit if it won’t keep on top of the salad?

But then again, there’s no veg plot at the new house and it will be a while before we can get organised enough to have one. And there are worse ways to spend a couple of afternoons a week than cycling down to my ‘allotment’ and spending a few hours weeding, clearing – and harvesting

august harvest

Especially harvesting.

I’m still turning over in my head where the veg should go in the new house, whether we want raised beds, how we’re going to replace the greenhouse. I don’t think these are decisions to be rushed, either. I’ve been spoiled – even with a resident rabbit, having a Victorian walled garden at your disposal for a veg plot is pretty jammy. Replacing the plot is going to take a while (let alone getting a greenhouse even half as good). I may be cycling back and forth between gardens for a while …

There is also garlic news, but I think I will give that a post of its own.

5 Responses to Food Miles

  1. Paul M says:

    That rabbit – you wouldn’t fancy yourself as a bit of a Mrs McGregor then?

  2. commuterjohn says:

    Raised beds most definitely, keeps everythings so much tidier.
    Raise them up as much as you want or need to make tending them as easy as it can be for you and fill them up with a good topsoil.
    Make gravel paths around and between them with landscape material underneath to stop the weeds taking over.
    A nice plank or two to span the beds if they are too large to tend from each side and your done.
    A lovely easily tended tidy veg plot.

  3. Charles says:

    I too would go for raised beds. I was lazy and got 3 for £90, I think they were 2m by 1.25m and they are about a foot high. The previous owners had gone minimal and covered garden in weed suppressing fabric and evergreen shrups and pampas grass, the gaps being filled with bark. Took out plants cut holes in membrane and piled the bark around the outside. Works well you can walk around them, there is no mud to stamp into the house. I also inherited a very nice wooden Malvern greenhouse made of red ceday no less, plus the original 2.2 by 2.2m veg patch.

    It is not really big enough but there are only 2 of us so 11 to 12 sqare metres plus greenhouse works but not enough room for purple sprouting broc of savoys etc.

    It might expand when someone is not looking buts great fun and raised beds are the way to go. If I could just kill off the bamboo that keeps growing up through them all would be perfect.

  4. disgruntled says:

    Definitely tending towards raised beds, although where to situate them is still an open question …

  5. Good luck with the country life.

    Charles has it. Rabbits are for eating.

Leave a Reply

