Ask and Ye Shall Receive …

The joy of the internet: no sooner have I intimated that I might need some plants to populate my garden, than lo and behold a car boot full of them land on my doorstep

plant haul

Thanks to the kindness of a friend of a friend (who has form when it comes to distributing plant material …) I have several recycled recycling containers full of guaranteed slug-proof, bomb-proof, cold-weather-proof (he may live in England, but at considerably more height), but possibly not me-proof plants.

The slug-proofing shall be tested extensively, as I have discovered that plenty of places for slugs to hide + the removal of a large amount of vegetation = lots of very hungry slugs who then devour every tender little plant you try and establish in place of the weeds.

new plants

The me-proofing will also be put to the test as I’ve got another crunch on with work (not helped by a planned long weekend in the Netherlands with my female cycling pals letting our hair down – sorry, that should have read ‘extensively studying cycling infrastructure’) so I’m going to have to plant them without the sort of extensive preparation and care that I would normally lavish on them (*ahem*. Honestly). I suspect with some of them (Monbretia, I’m looking at you) I could probably just fire them at the ground and they’ll be fine. As for the rest, we’ll just have to wait and see…

One Response to Ask and Ye Shall Receive …

  1. […] a year or so ago, I was gifted with a car boot full of plants to help me hold territory against the encroaching […]

Leave a Reply

