Giving Up the Ghost

It seems that trees don’t cope so well without their other halves: cycling back to the veg plot today, I was confronted with this sad sight

fallen tree

The remains of the tree that had been severed by the storm earlier has gone now too. I suppose it’s not so surprising, for the tree must have been left seriously unbalanced, but it is nonetheless a shame.

fallen tree

Meanwhile, down at the plot, some of my veg is taking advantage of my absence and displaying expansionist tendencies.

squash plant

It could be worse though: at least it’s not a courgette, but an acorn squash

acorn squash

In fact the whole plot is rather betraying the fact that it’s only getting a couple of hours of tending a week, not counting any weeding the rabbit might put in.

main plot

Meanwhile, I am coming to terms with the fact that any veg plot at the new house is unlikely to be much bigger than my original first six beds.

original plot

This is the plot I originally started with …

I shall have to be much more selective about what I grow …

One Response to Giving Up the Ghost

  1. Charles says:

    Sacrifice some room for a greenhouse or at least a cold frame. Also large pots work well, I have grown runner beans, broad beans, potatoes, tomatoes plus lots of herbs and the odd herb. Not at the same time or pot of course.

Leave a Reply

